Awards & Reviews

open table_ trip advisor_ zomato reviews yelpzagat
We’d love to hear about your experiences with us at Cantina Italiana. Please visit one of the sites above and leave your feedback about our food, service, and the restaurant, we welcome all constructive comments!

From Yelp:

January 1, 2016, P.H. — Tewksbury, MA

You won’t regret choosing Cantina Italiana for dinner while in the North End. This is by far our favorite restaurant. We’ve been coming for years and have never left disappointed. We were there last night for an early New Year’s dinner. The restaurant was bustling and the service was excellent, as always. My husband got the Tagliatelle with a side of sausage and I got the Pollo Abruzesse (chicken broccoli and ziti). Our food was absolutely delicious, again, as always. Over the years, we’ve gotten to know some of the excellent wait staff and two of our favorites are Lucy and Omar who help to make every visit an enjoyable and memorable experience.  While the food is exceptional, it is also the personal touch and friendliness of their wait staff that makes any trip to Cantina feel like coming home to family.

01.01.16_5Stars

 

 

 

 

May 30, 2015, Chris M. – Grand Ronde, OR

Oddly, about the foremost reason my companion and I swung by Cantina Italiana was time. We were about to catch a plane to Portugal (the Azores to be specific), had about three hours before takeoff, and right within out immediate field of vision was Cantina Italiana. In hindsight, I am glad we did. Coming from the West Coast, great Italian restaurants aren’t easy to come by, especially in the Pacific Northwest.

I don’t remember the name of my dish, but the sauce was tomato-based, the pasta homemade, and the protein a combination of all the high-end stuff that comes out of the ocean–scallops, lobster, some whitefish. Although it was more than I should have eaten, letting something so delicious go untouched would have been criminal. Ditto for my companion’s wild mushroom risotto. Our dessert sampler was awesome.

Our waitress forgot to bring my amaretto, which wasn’t a big deal. But as I exited the restaurant she yelled for me to come back, and pushed a very generous shot in front of me, compliments of the house. Now that is service!

Just go.

May 1, 2015, Philip M. – Atlanta, GA
My partner and I found this place while walking the Freedom Trail in Boston. We wanted good Italian for lunch but many places charged the same price for lunch and dinner. This place had reasonable lunch prices and a charming atmosphere. We arrived at 145pm on a Friday so there were only a handful of people seated. We ordered the calamari appetizer and it was delicious. Fresh with good seasoning. My partner ordered the chicken parmigiana and I had the pizzeta Quattro stagioni.

Both were excellent!

The best pizzas are made with farina from Italy and this tasted like it was made with that key ingredient. The crust was thin and crisp, the kind that results from a terra cotta oven.

Antonella was our server and was excellent!

A very pleasant lunch experience!!!

From TripAdvisor:

Cantina Italiana

Cantina Italiana

August 4, 2015 – 5 Stars
We used the Open Table app to book a reservation at Cantina which turned out to be a good idea as the lineup was out the door when we finished. My girlfriend and I had two of their specialty pasta bombolotti dishes and they were fantastic! The service was great and the food even better. A must stop if you’re in Boston.

June 6, 2015 – 5 Stars
This was my second time visiting Cantina Italiana, and I was once again very pleased. The food was delicious, and the service was great. I unfortunately don’t remember the sever’s name when I was there back in October, but today I brought my friend who was visiting from Ireland, and Andrew was our server. He was very polite, professional, and attentive, as were both the hostess and the manager on duty. I’ve eaten at about six restaurants in the North End over the past two years, and the others are nowhere near as good as Cantina Italiana in regards to the service. I’m a firm believer of friendliness being a huge reason of return visits, and Cantina Italiana can be certain I will always eat at their establishment!

May 31, 2015 – 5 Stars
Cantina Italiana has the best Italian food I’ve had in the United States. Walking into the restaurant feels like you are in Italy. The management and service were all very friendly and had strong Italian accents. We loved the Italian neighborhood in the North End. You will not be disappointed!

May 26, 2015
Cantina Italiana was a stop on a walking tour we did of the North End (see separate review for “Off the Eaten Track”). We enjoyed what we tasted on the walking tour and just had to go back for dinner the next evening. We made reservations for three and when we arrived we were promptly seated by a friendly hostess who made it clear that she was glad we had chosen their restaurant for dinner that evening. The friendliness did not stop there…our waiter was terrific…very professional and personable. The food you ask…it was perhaps the finest Italian meal I have ever had. The Bombolotti alla Buongustaia was stunning as was everything else that we ordered. There are a lot of restaurant choices in the North End some with lines outside the door to get in but if you want an amazing meal at one of the North End’s finest head to Cantina Italiana you will not be disappointed!!!

From Zomato (formerly Urban Spoon)

Jul 01, 2014
Not sure who did not like this place it was WONDERFUL!! We had a party of six, each of us had somethjng different and ALL of it was wonderful. Highly recommend this place. The server was very helpful and friendly as well.

Oct 17, 2010
Decent Overall. We ended up at Cantina Italiana on a Saturday evening after venturing to the north end area for dinner and not having made a reservation any where. We got lucky as there was a wait for a table, but as we were just a party of 2 got seated quite quickly.

Food was good, pasta was homemade, sauce was tasty. Our main entree’s were veal and mushroom sauce and a chicken and mushroom sauce as well.
We split a risotto of the day which ended up being a shrimp based risotto which was quite tasty as well.

Service was adequate considering how busy the restaurant was.

May 02, 2010
Timeless. I have been going their since I was a kid. It has never changed. Love the food. Some wait staff are better than others and they should be careful of that. No, don’t be in a rush, be Italian and take your time. Enjoy.